Premier league Golden boot winner, Harry Kane, Manchester United playmaker Bruno Fernandes and Liverpool’s Mo Salah have made the Professional Footballer’s Association (PFA) Team of the year.

Premier League champions Manchester City have dominated the 2020-21 PFA Team of the Year with six members of Pep Guardiola’s squad voted into the side by their fellow professionals.

Goalkeeper Ederson, defenders Joao Cancelo, Ruben Dias and John Stones and midfielders Kevin De Bruyne and Ilkay Gundogan were the players included after City finished 12 points clear at the top of the table.

READ ALSO :  Christian Eriksen discharged from hospital after successful operation

Ederson won the Premier League’s Golden Glove award for the second consecutive campaign after keeping the most clean sheets (19) and the Brazilian was assisted by his defenders, including Dias who was named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year last month.

At the opposite end of the pitch, Gundogan enjoyed comfortably the most prolific goalscoring season of his career, top-scoring in City’s squad with 13 league goals. De Bruyne, meanwhile, supplied 12 assists, the same number as Manchester United playmaker Bruno Fernandes, who was also named in the team.

READ ALSO :  Ugandan athlete missing from training camp in Japan

In total, there were two Manchester United players included, with left back Luke Shaw ensuring an all-Manchester back five by slotting in alongside the four City players. Tottenham also had two representatives, despite achieving their lowest Premier League finish in 12 years, with Harry Kane and Son Heung-min making the cut.

De Bruyne, Bruno Fernandes, Salah and Kane make the PFA Team of the Year (See full list)

Kane was named in the PFA Team of the Year for the fifth time and first since 2017-18 after scooping the Premier League golden boot with 23 goals and the playmaker of the season award by supplying a division-leading 14 assists.

READ ALSO :  5 clubs Sergio Ramos could join after Real Madrid exit including Man Utd and Chelsea

Many of those assists were for Son, who enjoyed his most productive season in English football by scoring 17 league goals. Liverpool’s Mo Salah completed the line-up after surpassing the 20-goal mark for the third time in four seasons, netting 22 times in total.

PFA Team of the Year in full: Ederson (Man City); Cancelo (Man City), Dias (Man City), Stones (Man City), Shaw (Man Utd); De Bruyne (Man City), Gundogan (Man City), Fernandes (Man Utd); Salah (Liverpool), Kane (Spurs), Son (Spurs).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Previous articleDonald Trump banned from Facebook for at least two years
Next article“Why do uneducated couples last longer in their marriage than educated couples”-Lady asks